Welcome to the home of the Pirates clubhouse
The Edmonton Rugby Football Club is the oldest club in the Edmonton Rugby Union having been established in 1953. Based in North Edmonton, the Pirates field teams for Men, Women and Junior players of all ages and abilities.
We have a large modern clubhouse and three full size pitches which we use to run our wide range of rugby programs. We welcome both experienced and new players.
Besides rugby programs, the Pirates also offer a warm friendly atmosphere and a vibrant social line up throughout the year.
If you are a long-time rugby player or you are just starting to play, come out to a practice and see what the Pirates can offer you!
latest news

Special Meeting

May 19th, 2016

Due to the resignation of our Secretary, the board is having a short special meeting to vote on a new secretary to carry out the remainder of the term.  The term will finish at the 2016 AGM in the fall.  The meeting will take place on June 16th, 2016 at 6:30 PM at the clubhouse.

The main responsibilities of the position include keeping notes on the meetings, handling external correspondence for the club, advertising, and overall budgetary considerations.  To run or vote for the position you must be fully registered for the season or possess a social membership.
If you would like to run for the position but can’t make the meeting please contact the executive. Any further questions regarding the position or process can be directed to the executive.  Thank you in advance for your attendance.

Players Wanted — Men, Women, Youth

April 25th, 2016

We are still looking to recruit players for all teams for the upcoming 2016 season.  There is no experience necessary to join.  If you have played in the past and want to get back into the game, feel free to come out to a training.

Men’s Program

Coach: Kevin Tuhua has been coaching with the Pirates for several years, with the men winning the Div 3 ERU championship in 2014 and going to the city final in 2015. He has coached for many teams within the ERU and Alberta and brings a wealth of experience to trainings.

The men are hoping to have another successful season and welcome any new players to join them on the hunt for another championship.

Women’s Program

Coach: This will be Randi Ross-Hamre’s first season coaching with the Pirates, but she comes with many years experience coaching teams in Edmonton and Alberta, including the U of A Pandas, ERU Gold teams, and Rugby Alberta Representative teams.

The women are looking to have a productive season in their first year with Randi and are looking for enthusiastic new players to bring into the fold for future years.

Youth Program

Currently the mini’s (U5 to U15) is training.  Juniors (U17/U18) will not start until completion of the high school season.

Volunteer Mini’s Coaches: Rob, Crystal and Shaun are all former Pirate players who currently have their own children playing in the mini’s program.  They are dedicated to the sport, the club, and most of all, the enjoyment of the kids.

The kids love having more new friends to run around with and learn the game.  For those thinking about bringing their children out and are apprehensive about contact, please note that U5 is fun rugby games and U7 to U9 is NON-CONTACT flag rugby.  Contact is not introduced until U11 in order to allow time to learn basic ball handling and field positioning.

Rugby is a great sport for fitness and meeting new people.  The Pirates welcome anyone who wants to give it a try.

Practice Times — Men and Women on Tuesdays and Thursdays @ 6:30 PM; Mini’s on Thursdays @ 6 PM.

2016 Registrations

April 4th, 2016

Registrations for the 2016 season can now be completed.  Please click the link below to be redirected to the Pirates registration page.

2016 Online Registration Form

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the registration process, please contact the registrar.

Kate Childs (kchilds@ualberta.ca)

Outdoor Training Begins

March 31st, 2016

With the fields cleared, outdoor training has begun for the senior men and women.

WHO: Senior (18+) men and women.  If you have never played before and would like to try rugby for the first time, feel free to join us at a training session.  No previous rugby experience is required.

WHERE: Pirates Fields (1904 167 Avenue)

WHEN: Tuesdays and Thursdays @ 6:30 PM


Women’s VP (Veronica Haring — vharing@ualberta.ca)

Men’s VP (Paul Hokansson — hokster@msn.com)

Women’s Coach (Randi Hamre — centaurrugby@gmail.com)

Men’s Coach (Kevin Tuhua — saracen4@hotmail.com)

Please dress in clothing that is comfortable for physical activity.  Clothing may get wet, dirty or damaged depending on activities.  Cleats (either soccer or rugby) are recommended but not required for practices.  Mouth guards are recommended for contact activities.

Pirates High School Sevens Tournament Registration Now Open

February 24th, 2016

Our annual high school sevens tournament is taking registrations.  Please see the file for more information or contact Kady Martin.

HS 7′s Invite 2016

Edmonton Rugby Union Youth Indoor Sessions

January 25th, 2016


Indoor Training Dates

January 25th, 2016

Mark your calendars, indoor training dates have been set. All sessions are at the Dow Centennial Center (8700 – 84st, Fort Saskatchewan) and are one hour long. Men, women, old and new players welcome!

Sunday February 7th – 8:45am – Gymnasium
Saturday February 13th – 4pm – Agrium Soccer Field
Saturday February 20th – 4pm – Agrium Soccer Field
Sunday February 28th – 8:45am – Gymnasium
Saturday March 5th – 4pm – Agrium Soccer Field
Saturday March 12th – 4pm – Agrium Soccer Field
Sunday March 20th – 8:45am – Gymnasium
Sunday March 27th – 10am – Agrium Soccer Field


Banquet and Awards 2014

November 13th, 2014

Thanks to all who attended this years banquet.  The following awards were handed out after dinner:

Junior Girls MVP: Kylie Zazula

Junior Boys MVP: David Chmiel

Women’s Rookie of the Year: Cheris Blair

Men’s Div III Rookie of the Year: Jordan Withers

Men’s Div II Rookie of the Year: Robert Burstall

Women’s MIP: Sabrina Hewitt

Men’s Div III MIP: Chris Quinn

Men’s Div II MIP: John Rota

Women’s MVP: Karlee Walters

Men’s Div III MVP: Rob Engels

Men’s Div II MVP: Clay Brower and Will Grady

Disco Cheetah: Jen Minchau

Pig of the Year: Mark Grenier

Barf Killips: Jordan Withers and Dylan Orr

Clubperson of the Year: John Rota

Sportsman of the Year: Levi Fournel


ERU Banquet and Awards

October 28th, 2014

All Pirates: Interest in the ERU Banquet:
The ERU holds their AGM and banquet on November 15 this year. The 3rd Div men will be receiving their plaque for winning cities at the ceremony. If you are interested in attending, tickets are $40 as we already have over 8 people committed. AGM is at 2 pm, cocktails at 6 and dinner at 7.

We have a bunch of the women going this year already, so it would be awesome to see a bunch of the guys come out too.

For more information, please email Michelle Maycock, or you can purchase your tickets directly through Carmen at erp@edmontonrugby.com or 780-988-5245.

ERU Champions — Div 3 Men

October 9th, 2014

Congratulations to the Div 3 Men on their successful season.  After winning the ERU championship at the end of September, they put the boots on one last time in Calgary to challenge for the provincial title.  Sadly, it was a loss, albeit a close one, with only 2 points separating them from the winning Calgary Canucks.  Thank you for all your hard work this season!  We look forward to another exceptional season of rugby in 2015!ERU Champions